2016 Scholarship Program

    Video Camera

    The application period for the District's 2016 Scholarship Program is now closed.

    Thank you to the students who submitted PSA videos! Winners will be notified in June, and the winning videos will be featured on the District's website and social media accounts.

    More Information

    If you have any questions, please email or call Sonja Morgan at 949-499-4555, ext. 3173. 

    2015 Scholarship Winners

    2015 Scholarship Winners

    At the June 11, 2015 meeting, the South Coast Water District Board of Directors was proud to award scholarships to five extraordinary individuals for their achievements, commitment to public service, and concern for our natural resources. The winners (pictured in the front row, from left to right) are Rachel Hunter, Olivia Orea, Amanda Meredith, Helen Payne, and Natasha Loayza (not pictured).

     Rachel Hunter

    Rachel Hunter
    Laguna Beach High School/Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo

    Read Rachel's essay

     Natasha Loayza

    Natasha Loayza
    Dana Hills High School/Orange Coast Community College with intent to transfer to University of Southern California

    Read Natasha's essay

     Amanda Meredith

    Amanda Meredith
    Dana Hills High School/University of Southern California

    Read Amanda's essay

     Olivia Orea

    Olivia Orea
    San Clemente High School/Cabrillo College

    Read Olivia's essay

    Helen Payne Helen Payne
    Dana Hills High School/Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo

    Read Helen's essay

    List of Scholarship Winners: 2001 - 2015

    Since our scholarship program started in 2001, the District has awarded a total $145,000 to 61 college-bound high school seniors who live in our service area. They are listed below alphabetically by high school:

    Dana Hills High School

    Amanda Anderson, UCLA
    Julia Ballou, San Francisco State University
    Courtney Barrett, University of Washington
    Lauren Black, USC
    Greg Bliss, Cal State Fullerton
    Desiree Bramlette, University of Arizona
    Caitlin Carpenter, Loyola Marymount University
    Amy Carr, Saddleback College
    Megan Castler, UC-Berkeley
    Katie Chironis, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
    Vanessa Dang, Loyola Marymount University
    Brooke Dorsey, University of Oregon
    Briana Gibbs, UC Santa Barbara
    Jonathan Gossett, Saddleback College
    Anja Hughes-Stinson, Pitzer College, Claremont, CA
    Rebecca Kirkpatrick, University of Wales, Aberystwyth (UK)
    Kelly Krieger, Westmont College, Santa Barbara
    Jennifer Kupferman, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
    Lia Larson, Harvard University 
    Natasha Loayza, Orange Coast Community College with intent to transfer to University of Southern California
    Summer Lemire, San Francisco State University
    Alyssa Lind, UC Santa Barbara
    Kelly Lockwood-Larson, UC-San Diego
    Ellen Lomonico, UCLA
    Rebecca Marshburn, Boston University
    Sarah Martino, Boston College
    Julian McCarty, UC Berkeley
    Raquel McNeff
    Amanda Meredith, University of Southern California
    Morgan Miyazano, UC-San Diego
    Helen Payne, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
    Kirra Quam, Saddleback College
    Michael Schoeck, San Diego State University
    Liane Sequeira, Cal Poly, Pomona
    Lisa Sequeira, Loyola Marymount University
    Molly Spear, San Jose State
    Shane Sonderlund, Pepperdine University
    Emma Suffridge, USC
    Victoria Watkins, Boise State University

    J Serra Catholic High School

    Nicholas Sarris, Seton Hall University, NJ

    Laguna Beach High School

    Blair Conklin, UC Berkeley
    Robert Harman, Jr., USC
    Rachel Hunter, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
    Margaux Thomas, UC Berkeley
    Marshall Thomas, UCLA

    Mater Dei High School

    Jamie Roth, Marquette University, Milwaukee, WI

    Orange County High School for the Performing Arts

    Anthony Penna, UC Santa Cruz

    San Clemente High School

    Meghan Casillas, Saddleback College
    Olivia Engelsman, Abilene Christian University
    Gabrielle Green, California State University, Chico
    Anna Klevit, St. Mary's College of California
    Sarah McQueen, Saddleback College
    Christine Nowland, UC Berkeley
    Robin Oliver, Emerson College 
    Olivia Orea, Cabrillo College
    Willis Porter, UC Berkeley
    Colette Troughton, UCLA
    Jazmine Vincenty, UC San Diego
    Marley Zalay, Chico State University

    San Juan Hills High School

     Jordan Hall, USC

    St. Margaret's High School

    Jared Schoeffel, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.

    Image credit: Rawpixel/123RF Stock Photo