2017 Scholarship Video Contest

2017 Scholarship Video Contest

Every year, South Coast Water District awards scholarships to high school students who live in the District's service area. For 2017, the scholarship will be a PSA Video Contest. The contest challenges students to create a video that educates people about the value of water. The winning videos will be used as District public service announcements and as educational outreach materials throughout Orange County.

Scholarship Contact

Sonja Morgan
(949) 499-4555, ext. 3173
(949) 499-4256, fax

Scholarship Awards

1st Place: $2,500
2nd Place: $1,000
3rd Place: $750
Viewer's Choice Award: $250
1st Place Winner's School Bonus: A $500 donation will be made to the arts program at the school who has the most entries.

Application Deadline

Completed applications, including videos, must be received on or before March 6, 2017.


Students in grade 12 who live in South Coast Water District's service area are eligible to enter. Entries can be a group or individual effort. Limit to one entry per group and person.

BEFORE APPLYING: Call or email Customer Service at (949) 499-4555, ext. 1, to verify that you live in our service area and are eligible to apply. Applications from students who do not live in the District's service area cannot be accepted.

Entry Form

A completed 2017 South Coast Water District Scholarship Entry & Release Form must accompany each video submitted. Please label all DVD copies and include the title of the video, names of the student(s) submitting the video, high school name, and a phone number for a parent, teacher, or school principal. Please note that all submissions are the property of the District and cannot be returned.

Submission Criteria

  • The video must be between 30 seconds or 1 minute in length
  • The video file formats we prefer: .mov, .wmv, .avi, or .mp4
  • Each entry must include two DVD copies. Mail to Sonja Morgan, 31592 West St. Laguna Beach, CA 92651.
  • No professional assistance or use of copyright material is allowed. The use of professional assistance and/or use of copyright material will result in an automatic disqualification

Video Theme: When It's Gone...

Judging Criteria

Entries will be judged by a committee using the following criteria:

  • Incorporation of theme message (When It's Gone...)
  • Production quality
  • Entertainment value
  • Creativity/originality

Winners will be notified in June and the winning videos will be featured on the District's website social media accounts.

More Information

If you have any questions, please email or call Sonja Morgan at 949-499-4555, ext. 3173.

Last Year's Scholarship Video Contest Winners

2016 Scholarship Winners

At the June 23, 2016 meeting, the South Coast Water District Board of Directors was proud to award scholarships to two extraordinary individuals. The 1st place winner is Tayler Gott (pictured fifth from left). The 2nd place winner is Charlie Lindberg (pictured thrid from right).

Gott was awarded 1st place for her video titled “A Day Without Water.” A resident of Capistrano Beach, she recently graduated from San Clemente High School and will attend California State University in the fall.

Lindberg was awarded 2nd place for his video urging us to save water. He is a resident of Capistrano Beach and will be a senior at San Juan Hills High School.

San Clemente and San Juan Hills High School each received $500 for their video arts programs.

Last Year's 1st Place Video

Last Year's 2nd Place Video

More Information

If you have any questions, please email or call Sonja Morgan at 949-499-4555, ext. 3173.

List of Scholarship Winners: 2001–2016

Since our scholarship program started in 2001, the District has awarded a total $148,500 to 63 college-bound high school seniors who live in our service area and $1,000 to local schools. Winners are listed below alphabetically by high school:

Dana Hills High School

Amanda Anderson, UCLA
Julia Ballou, San Francisco State University
Courtney Barrett, University of Washington
Lauren Black, USC
Greg Bliss, Cal State Fullerton
Desiree Bramlette, University of Arizona
Caitlin Carpenter, Loyola Marymount University
Amy Carr, Saddleback College
Megan Castler, UC-Berkeley
Katie Chironis, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
Vanessa Dang, Loyola Marymount University
Brooke Dorsey, University of Oregon
Briana Gibbs, UC Santa Barbara
Jonathan Gossett, Saddleback College
Anja Hughes-Stinson, Pitzer College, Claremont, CA
Rebecca Kirkpatrick, University of Wales, Aberystwyth (UK)
Kelly Krieger, Westmont College, Santa Barbara
Jennifer Kupferman, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Lia Larson, Harvard University
Natasha Loayza, Orange Coast Community College with intent to transfer to University of Southern California
Summer Lemire, San Francisco State University
Alyssa Lind, UC Santa Barbara
Kelly Lockwood-Larson, UC-San Diego
Ellen Lomonico, UCLA
Rebecca Marshburn, Boston University
Sarah Martino, Boston College
Julian McCarty, UC Berkeley
Raquel McNeff
Amanda Meredith, University of Southern California
Morgan Miyazano, UC-San Diego
Helen Payne, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
Kirra Quam, Saddleback College
Michael Schoeck, San Diego State University
Liane Sequeira, Cal Poly, Pomona
Lisa Sequeira, Loyola Marymount University
Molly Spear, San Jose State
Shane Sonderlund, Pepperdine University
Emma Suffridge, USC
Victoria Watkins, Boise State University

J Serra Catholic High School

Nicholas Sarris, Seton Hall University, NJ

Laguna Beach High School

Blair Conklin, UC Berkeley
Robert Harman, Jr., USC
Rachel Hunter, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
Margaux Thomas, UC Berkeley
Marshall Thomas, UCLA

Mater Dei High School

Jamie Roth, Marquette University, Milwaukee, WI

Orange County High School for the Performing Arts

Anthony Penna, UC Santa Cruz

San Clemente High School

Meghan Casillas, Saddleback College
Olivia Engelsman, Abilene Christian University
Tayler Gott, California State University
Gabrielle Green, California State University, Chico
Anna Klevit, St. Mary's College of California
Sarah McQueen, Saddleback College
Christine Nowland, UC Berkeley
Robin Oliver, Emerson College
Olivia Orea, Cabrillo College
Willis Porter, UC Berkeley
Colette Troughton, UCLA
Jazmine Vincenty, UC San Diego
Marley Zalay, Chico State University

San Juan Hills High School

Jordan Hall, USC
Charlie Lindberg

St. Margaret's High School

Jared Schoeffel, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.